On Repeat: October

October has been a weird one for tracks I have loved this month. I’ve been exploring new genres and getting into garage a lot more, but have also reconnected with my love for post punk rock, whilst maintaining the same love for 140+ bpm techno and electro and deep house. There has also been some amazing new releases from some of my favourite artists. You could say October’s edition of On Repeat is a real cocktail of tracks.

St. Germain – Thank You Mum – French musician Ludovic Navarre AKA St. Germain’s track Thank You Mum from is 1995 album Boulevard is one deep, underground 90’s house track I have been loving through October. Inspired by French jazz house music, this track has one deep bassline flowing through, paired with a blues vocal sample (of Lightnin’ Hopkins’ Mama Blues) and a layer of harmonica that is the secret ingredient to Thank You Mum; which I now think is one of the best deep house tracks ever made, my mind was truly blown when I first heard this. I shall be checking out the rest of the album and listening to more of St. Germain for sure.

Shawn Cartier – Parking Lot (VIGILE Remix) – For this month’s techno / electro selection, I have included Scottish producer, Franck’s remix of Newcastle DJ Shawn Cartier’s track Parking Lot, which he remixed when he was formerly known as Vigile, on his 2020 EP, also called Parking Lot. This is a high energy track, made for offending your neighbours and making dancefloors shake with good vibrations.

Lustral – Everytime (Nalin & Kane Mix) – Next up on the list of October is German production duo Nalin & Kane’s Remix of British electronic producers (also a duo) Lustral’s Everytime. This is a Balearic trance interpretation of the song from 1997, in the peak years of trailblazer trance music. From the build up to the breakdown, this remix of the 90’s trance classic is an absolute masterpiece. It is sensual and mystical, enough to quite literally put one in a trance.

Overmono – So U Kno – Time for some breakbeat and ambient bassquakes now, from British rave and techno duo Overmono. The Russell brothers, Tom and Ed have also previously worked solo on their own projects as Tessela (Ed) and Truss (Tom), before forming as Overmono. So U Kno has a really nostalgic garage feel and sound to it, as though it were released years ago and not actually in June this year, on the BMW Track / So U Kno single. Overmono have become one of my favourite electronic acts ever just within the last couple of months, and with this track alone it is clear to see why.

Dax J – East London Back Alleys (Jungle Techno Mix) – This is the last of this month’s electronic picks; Dax J’s latest album, Utopian Surrealism came out a couple of weeks ago on Monnom Black (which also happens to be one of my favourite record labels) and to be honest I have had the entire album on repeat, but this is probably my favourite track on there. Combining jungle and techno makes an exceptional track, and experimentalism at its finest.

Superheaven – Knew – And now it’s time to get emo. I always reconnect with my favourite post punk bands in Autumn and Winter seasons for some reason, probably something to do with the blues and the adjusting to the changes. Superheaven have been one of my favourite bands of that sub genre of punk for many years now, ever since I first discovered their 2013 debut album, In A Jar, which is also one of my favourite albums of all time and every single song on there is so good, Jar is one album I love with absolutely no skips. I will be honest and say I was struggling to choose one song from this album for this post so I picked a random one. Knew in particular has a very Nirvana-esque feel to it, thanks to its riff that sounds a lot like Bleed.

Modern Color – Empty Rooms – Modern Color are a Californian band formed in 2014. Empty Rooms is the only song I know by them so far, as this appeared on one of my Spotify daily mixes one day, but is one that keeps reappearing on there, and I have been loving what I have been hearing, it’s definitely a song that sticks in your head. Empty Rooms is from the band’s 2020 album, From the Leaves of Your Garden, which I definitely be checking out the rest of. For fans of: Title Fight, Citizen and Basement.

Basement – Crickets Throw Their Voice – UK band Basement, formed in Suffolk in 2009 are one of my favourite bands ever and their debut album released in 2011, I wish I Could Stay Here is another album I absolutely love. Basement were one of the bands I loved when I was in college and very much in my emo / greb phase (still am, not going to lie), so this album always makes me feel very nostalgic and takes me back to the days spent listening to this IWICSH on repeat. Crickets Throw Their Voice is the fourth song on the album and my favourite on there, with Andrew Fisher’s gruff vocals and the poignant lyrics. I am seeing Basement for the third time at Outbreak Festival in Manchester next year, where they will be playing an 11 year anniversary set for the album, which I am so stoked for.

Counterparts – The Disconnect – Considerably one of the greatest metalcore songs of all time by one of the biggest hardcore bands in the scene, The Disconnect remains an anthem to be shouted with passion. This is the opening track on their 2011 album, The Current Will Carry Us. From the lyrics “I fucking hate the world, I fucking hate myself, and I swore I’d never fucking feel like this” it becomes immediately clear this is not an optimistic song, but it is definitely a line that a fair few of us can empathise with, which makes this song so resonating.

Lana Del Rey – Dealer – And lastly, we have my queen and love of my life Miss Lana Del Rey. Her new album, Blue Banisters was released on the 22nd of October (the same day as Dax J’s funnily enough, and I have had both albums on repeat) and Dealer is the best song on there. It features one half of The Last Shadow Puppets, Miles Kane and apparently was co-written with Alex Turner as well. It is an earth-shattering song, and one of the most chilling and cinematic she has wrote so far. She also experiments more with her vocals on this track by screaming, “I don’t wanna live”, adding to the overall powerful feel of Dealer.

Thank you for reading about the tracks I loved in October, all ten songs have been added to the On Repeat Spotify playlist. I hope you can find as much love in all of these songs as I have, and hope you can enjoy experimenting in tastes and discovering other genres with my picks for this month.

Author: theruthlessraver

23, aspiring writer and lover of all things music and cinema

One thought on “On Repeat: October”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started