On Repeat: December 2022

As 2022 draws to a close, so does the On Repeat series. December’s edition of On Repeat will be the final of the written blog posts. I have loved writing each month’s edition over the past two years, however I am now ready to switch things up a bit and move on to other projects, including the Grooves on the Vinyl series and other things like more reviews and artist / release promotions. I will also soon be launching The Ruthless Raver mix series on Soundcloud in the next few months. On Repeat will still exist in playlist form, which I will update every month and post on socials for music fans to enjoy. But for now, here are my top ten favourite tracks I loved in December 2022:

Coatie Pop – City Song – First up for December is Coatie Pop’s City Song from their 2022 album Deathbed. Hailing from New York City, the duo describe themselves in their Instagram bio as a “post-punk grunge rave trip-hop duo”. Whilst it’s quite the mouthful, I would say it is a pretty accurate description. Particularly in this track, it’s like if Grimes and DJ Seinfeld collaborated; with lead singer Courtney Watkin’s soft fairy-like vocals alongside a morose synthesiser to underline the post-punk bassline.

Guilt Trip – Tearing Your Life Away – The second song for December is from Manchester crossover hardcore punk band Guilt Trip. Tearing Your Life Away was released as a single on Malevolence’s label M.L.V.L.T.D on the 2nd of December and is also the band’s first release on the label. In true Guilt Trip style, and appropriately fitting to the label, the track is a metal smash hit, packed full of intense riffs and a brutal breakdown. What seemed to deliver as an early Christmas present from the Manchester lads, it’s an insane track to round off 2022 with as the year finished and is easily one of the best metal releases of the year. I got to see Guilt Trip for the first time in December at The Foundry in Sheffield, supporting New York’s Stray From The Path. Guilt Trip are one of the coolest bands in the scene right now and I can’t wait to see what they bring in 2023.

Lana Del Rey – Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Boulevard? – It would be so wrong of me to not feature my darling Lana Del Rey when she releases her new single in December when I am getting ready to finish up 2022. Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Boulevard is the first single from the forthcoming album of the same name which is due to be released in March. It is typical of Lana, beautifully poetic and emotionally provoking like most of her best work, not to mention sonically calming and soft. She loves to devastate her dear listeners, with her themes of loneliness and heartbreak, which she has stuck with on this single, which is ultimately a song about her being forgotten over time and abandoned. Lana, I could NEVER.

Funk Tribu – Nakir – Moving ontothe uplifters for a bit now. This next track is from Colombian producer Funk Tribu, who has already put his stamp on the scene with his explosively colourful track Phonky Tribu. Nakir is from his latest EP Acid Angels and is the third and closing track on the EP which features a sample of Lil Uzi Vert’s XO Tour Life amongst high energy acid/trance/techno beats, with pumping bass starting on the upbeat, before the classic trance lead comes through, creating the melody.

Mall Grab – Without The Sun VIP –  Mall Grab released the deluxe version of his debut album, What I Breathe in December which features special additions of instrumentals and two VIP tracks, Without The Sun and Love Reigns; expanding the original track list to 21 components. The regular, first release of the album was featured in both Resident Advisor and Rough Trade’s top 100 albums of the year lists. Without The Sun VIP is still as anthemic as the original version, yet it has been transformed into a rave-ready staple with abrasive soundscape.

Drenge – Never Awake – I’ve been having a bit of a nostalgic fix recently, and have been listening to bands I loved when I was 17, so the likes of Fidlar, Peace and Drenge. The latter band, originally from Castleton, now Sheffield based where they first formed Drenge appeared in my Spotify daily mixes and it was like someone took a key and unlocked a memory, I cannot believe I ever forgot about this band. Never Awake is from their 2015 album, Undertow and was the second single released before the album. It is an amazing post-grunge track, opening with some patterning drums from Rory Loveless and twisting, mysterious vocal tones from frontman and older brother Eoin, with lyrics that cover subjects of love and loss.

Brutalismus 3000 – 3ISBAR – The latest single from Berlin gabber punks Brutalismus 3000 is 3ISBAR, released 9th December. Notorious for their intense, murderous tracks I must say this one is the most “pop-py” and uplifting tracks of their catalogue so far, but without straying too far away from their hellish signature sound. They have dropped a bomb once again with 3ISBAR, which features a post-punk bassline with heavily down sampled drums which suddenly drops into a little hard trance beat, coupled with singer Victoria Daldas’ playful vocals.

Jack Marlow – Old’ On – One artist I discovered in December was Liverpool based Jack Marlow. I was scrolling through Instagram one day when I stumbled across a reel featuring his track Old’ On and I immediately added it to my liked songs and other Spotify playlists. The track is from his 2022 album Tastes Like the 90’s, released in August. I don’t know what the rest of the album sounds like as I have only heard this track, but I would say the album name is definitely appropriate for the vibe of Old’ On as there are some massive 90’s dance influences throughout, whilst simultaneously being the perfect mix of deep house and UK garage; This track is a classic before its time.

Renounced – Self Inflicted – the hardcore pick for this week is from London based band Renounced with their song Self Inflicted from their 2019 album, Beauty is a Destructive Angel and features Counterpart’s Brendan Murphy. Self Inflicted is the second track on the album after the instrumental opener Ghosts, before breaking into machine like drums and hammering riffs, before being met by vocals from frontman Daniel Gray. Such an explosive song, and a great full length opener for the album.

Black Sabbath – Sabbra Cadabra – Finally, we come to the last track of December’s, the last track for 2022 and the final track for the written On Repeat series. Sabbra Cadabra is by Black Sabbath (the clue is in the name) and is from their classic 1973 album Sabbath Bloody Sabbath. It is a love song originally written by Ozzy Osbourne but then changed by bassist Geezer Butler. Sabbra Cadabra oozes rock and roll without being too soppy, it is Black Sabbath after all. The song was later covered by Metallica in 1998 on Garage Inc. album

That’s a wrap for 2022 and the written series of On Repeat. I have absolutely loved creating this series over the past two years but now it is time for me to move on with other projects I have in store for 2023. The On Repeat playlist will still be on Spotify and I will still add to it each month, there just won’t be a readable version up on the blog exploring the ins and outs of each track. I will also be sharing each track individually on Instagram stories and adding the sound so that everyone can still hear my favourite top ten. I cant get rid of it completely!

I also would like to say the biggest of thank you’s to everyone who reads each post every month and those of you who follow the Instagram account, listen to the tracks and follow my playlists. None of the support goes un noticed and I am so grateful, I cannot wait for everyone to see what is coming this year.

December’s tracks can be found here:

Author: theruthlessraver

23, aspiring writer and lover of all things music and cinema

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started